Holidays

Canada holidays

You are here:   Home National Holidays Canada

Information about Canada

Canada is a country occupying most of northern North America, extending from the Atlantic Ocean in the east to the Pacific Ocean in the west and northward into the Arctic Ocean. It is the world's second largest country by total area, and shares land borders with the United States to the south and northwest.

The lands have been inhabited for millennia by aboriginal peoples. Beginning in the late 15th century, British and French expeditions explored and later settled the Atlantic coast. France ceded nearly all of its colonies in North America in 1763 after the Seven Years War. In 1867, with the union of three British North American colonies through Confederation, Canada became a federal dominion. A gradual process of independence from the United Kingdom moved Canada towards statehood and culminated in the Canada Act 1982, severing the last vestiges of dependence on the British parliament.

A federation now comprising ten provinces and three territories, Canada is a parliamentary democracy and a constitutional monarchy with Queen Elizabeth II as its head of state. It is a bilingual and multicultural country, with both English and French as official languages at the federal level. Technologically advanced and industrialized, Canada maintains a diversified economy that is heavily reliant upon its abundant natural resources and upon trade-particularly with the United States, with which Canada has had a long and complex relationship.

National holidays of Canada

Sunday, January 01, 2017

New Year

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Valentines Day

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

National Flag

Friday, March 17, 2017

St. Patricks Day

Friday, March 24, 2017

Easter Monday In Canada

Wednesday, March 29, 2017

Good Friday

Friday, May 12, 2017

Mothers Day

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Victoria Day

Friday, June 16, 2017

Fathers Day

Saturday, July 01, 2017

Canada Day

Saturday, September 02, 2017

Labour Day

Saturday, October 14, 2017

Thanksgiving Day

Tuesday, October 31, 2017

Halloween All Hallows Eve

Saturday, November 11, 2017

Canadian Remembrance Day

Monday, December 25, 2017

Christmas

Tuesday, December 26, 2017

Boxing Day

Advertising

Holidays Search

Useful Tools

© 2007 Copyright by Worlds-Holidays.com. All rights reserved