Holidays

France holidays

You are here:   Home National Holidays France

Information about France

France, officially the French Republic, is a country whose metropolitan territory is located in Western Europe and that also comprises various overseas islands and territories located in other continents. Metropolitan France extends from the Mediterranean Sea to the English Channel and the North Sea, and from the Rhine to the Atlantic Ocean. French people often refer to Metropolitan France as L'Hexagone (The "Hexagon") because of the geometric shape of its territory.

France is bordered by Belgium, Luxembourg, Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Monaco, Andorra, and Spain. Due to its overseas departments, France also shares land borders with Brazil and Suriname (bordering French Guiana), and the Netherlands Antilles (bordering Saint-Martin). France is also linked to the United Kingdom by the Channel Tunnel, which passes underneath the English Channel.

The French Republic is a democracy organised as a unitary semi-presidential republic. Its main ideals are expressed in the Declaration of the Rights of Man and of the Citizen. In the 18th and 19th centuries, France built one of the largest colonial empires of the time, stretching across West Africa and Southeast Asia, prominently influencing the cultures and politics of the regions. France is a developed country with the sixth-largest economy in the world. France is the most visited country in the world, receiving over 79 million foreign tourists annually (including business visitors, but excluding people staying less than 24 hours in France). France is one of the founding members of the European Union, and has the largest land area of all members. France is also a founding member of the United Nations, and a member of the Francophonie, the G8, and the Latin Union. It is one of the five permanent members of the United Nations Security Council; it is also an acknowledged nuclear power.

The name France originates from the Franks (Francs) , a Germanic tribe that occupied northern Europe after the fall of the Western Roman Empire. More precisely, the region around Paris, called Ile-de-France, was the original French royal demesne. The first King of the Franks, Clovis, is regarded as the forefather of the French kings.

National holidays of France

Monday, January 01, 2018

New Year

Thursday, January 25, 2018

Christmas

Saturday, March 03, 2018

Grandmothers Day

Tuesday, March 20, 2018

International Francophony Day

Saturday, March 31, 2018

Easter

Sunday, April 01, 2018

April Fools Day

Tuesday, May 01, 2018

Labour Day

Thursday, May 17, 2018

Ascension Day

Thursday, June 21, 2018

Music day

Saturday, July 14, 2018

Bastille day

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Reading Day

Sunday, October 21, 2018

Chestnut Day

Wednesday, October 31, 2018

Halloween

Thursday, November 01, 2018

All Saints Day

Sunday, November 11, 2018

St Martins Day

Memory Day

Sunday, November 11, 2018

St Martins Day

Memory Day

Tuesday, November 20, 2018

New Beaujolais Feast

Thursday, December 06, 2018

St. Nicolas Day

Advertising

Holidays Search

Useful Tools

© 2007 Copyright by Worlds-Holidays.com. All rights reserved