Holidays

France holidays

You are here:   Home National Holidays France

Information about France

France, officially the French Republic, is a country whose metropolitan territory is located in Western Europe and that also comprises various overseas islands and territories located in other continents. Metropolitan France extends from the Mediterranean Sea to the English Channel and the North Sea, and from the Rhine to the Atlantic Ocean. French people often refer to Metropolitan France as L'Hexagone (The "Hexagon") because of the geometric shape of its territory.

France is bordered by Belgium, Luxembourg, Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Monaco, Andorra, and Spain. Due to its overseas departments, France also shares land borders with Brazil and Suriname (bordering French Guiana), and the Netherlands Antilles (bordering Saint-Martin). France is also linked to the United Kingdom by the Channel Tunnel, which passes underneath the English Channel.

The French Republic is a democracy organised as a unitary semi-presidential republic. Its main ideals are expressed in the Declaration of the Rights of Man and of the Citizen. In the 18th and 19th centuries, France built one of the largest colonial empires of the time, stretching across West Africa and Southeast Asia, prominently influencing the cultures and politics of the regions. France is a developed country with the sixth-largest economy in the world. France is the most visited country in the world, receiving over 79 million foreign tourists annually (including business visitors, but excluding people staying less than 24 hours in France). France is one of the founding members of the European Union, and has the largest land area of all members. France is also a founding member of the United Nations, and a member of the Francophonie, the G8, and the Latin Union. It is one of the five permanent members of the United Nations Security Council; it is also an acknowledged nuclear power.

The name France originates from the Franks (Francs) , a Germanic tribe that occupied northern Europe after the fall of the Western Roman Empire. More precisely, the region around Paris, called Ile-de-France, was the original French royal demesne. The first King of the Franks, Clovis, is regarded as the forefather of the French kings.

National holidays of France

Tuesday, January 01, 2019

New Year

Friday, January 25, 2019

Christmas

Sunday, March 03, 2019

Grandmothers Day

Wednesday, March 20, 2019

International Francophony Day

Sunday, March 31, 2019

Easter

Monday, April 01, 2019

April Fools Day

Wednesday, May 01, 2019

Labour Day

Friday, May 17, 2019

Ascension Day

Friday, June 21, 2019

Music day

Sunday, July 14, 2019

Bastille day

Wednesday, October 16, 2019

Reading Day

Monday, October 21, 2019

Chestnut Day

Thursday, October 31, 2019

Halloween

Friday, November 01, 2019

All Saints Day

Monday, November 11, 2019

St Martins Day

Memory Day

Monday, November 11, 2019

St Martins Day

Memory Day

Wednesday, November 20, 2019

New Beaujolais Feast

Friday, December 06, 2019

St. Nicolas Day

Advertising

Holidays Search

Useful Tools

© 2007 Copyright by Worlds-Holidays.com. All rights reserved